| Welcome to Webforumz.com. |
|
Jan 30th, 2008, 08:50
|
#1 (permalink)
|
|
Up'n'Coming Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 51
|
stolen web site design
I was shocked when I open the web site of MarbleHost.com and Chennaiinfo.com and see that they have the same web design. Looks like Chennaiinfo has stolen the design from Marblehost. How can it be? I think there are some copyrights rules and when they are broken the web hosting company that commited that robbery must be punished.
Any ideas?
|
|
|
Jan 30th, 2008, 09:39
|
#2 (permalink)
|
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 457
|
Re: stolen web site design
One thing with hosting companies is MOST of them are not actual companies. Most of them are only resellers and they usually are given 10-20 templates to choose from. More than likely, these two are reselling the same hosting and just have used the same template. BTW these are companies to avoid, as your paying more money and getting no extra benefits and usually worse customer support. In no way am I stating anything against the two domains listed above, as I have never done business with either of them.
__________________
My Website www.justudios.com is here!
Availability: YES | NO
ASP | PHP |Flash | Design | Contract Work
|
|
|
Jan 30th, 2008, 13:30
|
#3 (permalink)
|
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
Age: 29
Posts: 13
|
Re: stolen web site design
As JustinStudios has said these two companies are just using the same template, these templates can be downloaded from many sites like template monster. (or just by searching your fav torrent site)
imo bad pratice for any hosting company but it's a fast way of getting a site up and running
|
|
|
Jan 30th, 2008, 14:07
|
#4 (permalink)
|
|
Up'n'Coming Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 51
|
Re: stolen web site design
But I have heard that template monster isn't very good.
|
|
|
Jan 30th, 2008, 14:27
|
#5 (permalink)
|
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
Age: 29
Posts: 13
|
Re: stolen web site design
That may be true, i've never used them so i don't know. However there are may sites that offer templates and as Justin Said some companies that offer reseller accounts also offer templates to go with the package
|
|
|
Jan 30th, 2008, 14:28
|
#6 (permalink)
|
|
Elite Veteran
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: You know where
Age: 30
Posts: 4,883
|
Re: stolen web site design
Template monster is not the only template site out there. And there are tons of FREE templates sites as well so ... seeing 2 sites with the same template is not such a big deal. Of course, it only proves how amateur they are.
|
|
|
Jan 30th, 2008, 17:44
|
#7 (permalink)
|
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 457
|
Re: stolen web site design
Off Topic: I've used TemplateMonster through a client, they bought a Flash website from them and at that time if you bought the template outright you got the .fla. Else, you just got a .swf . This was a real problem as the site's text and everything was saved inside the .swf and was not used externally. After about a month and a half the client finally bought a .swf grabber and I got the .fla from that.
On Topic: Is it bad to use a template and then just put your name on it? Yep, do most people care? Nope. You'll find people like this more than likely don't know a thing about webdevelopment, and more than likely have no clue what hosting is. They just are resellers and they make a few bucks for doing nothing.
__________________
My Website www.justudios.com is here!
Availability: YES | NO
ASP | PHP |Flash | Design | Contract Work
|
|
|
Feb 1st, 2008, 12:58
|
#8 (permalink)
|
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Caroline
Posts: 29
|
Re: stolen web site design
Justin, does your post imply that Marblehost.com initial design wasn't original? There's their copyright sign on the web site www.marblehost.com.
Last edited by moromara; Feb 1st, 2008 at 13:02.
|
|
|
Feb 1st, 2008, 17:42
|
#9 (permalink)
|
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 457
|
Re: stolen web site design
I'm not stating whether it is or not man. I don' t know. But I do know, most people who use templates put a copyright on it anyhow as they see other sites do it and don't know what its for.
__________________
My Website www.justudios.com is here!
Availability: YES | NO
ASP | PHP |Flash | Design | Contract Work
|
|
|
Feb 5th, 2008, 08:46
|
#10 (permalink)
|
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: on the forum
Posts: 37
|
Re: stolen web site design
Frankly speaking I see no point to use templates of the other company. Chennaiinfo.com hasn't even change the title of the MarbleHost.com on their web site. Shame on them.
|
|
|
Feb 11th, 2008, 08:56
|
#11 (permalink)
|
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London
Age: 27
Posts: 29
|
Re: stolen web site design
It's really a pity when the other company uses the web design of the web hosting company that has already been in the web hosting business for a long while. But I think MarbleHost.com will not lose anything because of that.
|
|
|
Feb 28th, 2008, 09:31
|
#12 (permalink)
|
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New-York
Posts: 42
|
Re: stolen web site design
It's always a pity when the web design of your company is stolen by somebody. But I hope the reputation of MarbheHost.com hasn't damaged.
|
|
|
Mar 5th, 2008, 12:19
|
#13 (permalink)
|
|
Up'n'Coming Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 51
|
Re: stolen web site design
Anyway MarbleHost.com is a reputable company and they are known with their top-notch services. Think they'll be lucky with their business.
|
|
|
Mar 7th, 2008, 11:13
|
#14 (permalink)
|
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Caroline
Posts: 29
|
Re: stolen web site design
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinStudios
I'm not stating whether it is or not man. I don' t know. But I do know, most people who use templates put a copyright on it anyhow as they see other sites do it and don't know what its for.
|
How should one protect his web site or its elements from copying?
I also wonder if Marblehost.com has filed a suite against chennainfo.com?
|
|
|
Mar 16th, 2008, 18:05
|
#15 (permalink)
|
|
Up'n'Coming Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 66
|
Re: stolen web site design
if a proper company is gonna use a template they should either buy the rights to the template meaning only they can use it or pay a proffesional designer/coder to make there site I would suggest the latter
|
|
|
Mar 19th, 2008, 14:03
|
#16 (permalink)
|
|
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Age: 27
Posts: 22
|
Re: stolen web site design
Any Marblehost.com representatives here? I'm just wondering what was their reaction like?
|
|
|
| Thread Tools |
|
|
| Rate This Thread |
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|