This is a discussion on "stolen web site design" within the Hosting & Domains section. This forum, and the thread "stolen web site design are both part of the Hosting Related category.
|
|
|
|
|
![]() |
||
stolen web site design
|
||
| Notices |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools |
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
stolen web site design
I was shocked when I open the web site of MarbleHost.com and Chennaiinfo.com and see that they have the same web design. Looks like Chennaiinfo has stolen the design from Marblehost. How can it be? I think there are some copyrights rules and when they are broken the web hosting company that commited that robbery must be punished.
Any ideas? |
|
|
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
Re: stolen web site design
One thing with hosting companies is MOST of them are not actual companies. Most of them are only resellers and they usually are given 10-20 templates to choose from. More than likely, these two are reselling the same hosting and just have used the same template. BTW these are companies to avoid, as your paying more money and getting no extra benefits and usually worse customer support. In no way am I stating anything against the two domains listed above, as I have never done business with either of them.
Last Blog Entry: Happy Holidays - A Non Offensive way to say Merry Christmas? WRONG! (Dec 11th, 2007)
|
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
Re: stolen web site design
As JustinStudios has said these two companies are just using the same template, these templates can be downloaded from many sites like template monster. (or just by searching your fav torrent site)
imo bad pratice for any hosting company but it's a fast way of getting a site up and running |
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
Re: stolen web site design
But I have heard that template monster isn't very good.
|
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
Re: stolen web site design
That may be true, i've never used them so i don't know. However there are may sites that offer templates and as Justin Said some companies that offer reseller accounts also offer templates to go with the package
|
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
Re: stolen web site design
Template monster is not the only template site out there. And there are tons of FREE templates sites as well so ... seeing 2 sites with the same template is not such a big deal. Of course, it only proves how amateur they are.
|
|
#7
|
||||
|
||||
|
Re: stolen web site design
Off Topic: I've used TemplateMonster through a client, they bought a Flash website from them and at that time if you bought the template outright you got the .fla. Else, you just got a .swf . This was a real problem as the site's text and everything was saved inside the .swf and was not used externally. After about a month and a half the client finally bought a .swf grabber and I got the .fla from that.
On Topic: Is it bad to use a template and then just put your name on it? Yep, do most people care? Nope. You'll find people like this more than likely don't know a thing about webdevelopment, and more than likely have no clue what hosting is. They just are resellers and they make a few bucks for doing nothing.
Last Blog Entry: Happy Holidays - A Non Offensive way to say Merry Christmas? WRONG! (Dec 11th, 2007)
|
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
Re: stolen web site design
Justin, does your post imply that Marblehost.com initial design wasn't original? There's their copyright sign on the web site www.marblehost.com.
Last edited by moromara; Feb 1st, 2008 at 13:02. |
|
#9
|
||||
|
||||
|
Re: stolen web site design
I'm not stating whether it is or not man. I don' t know. But I do know, most people who use templates put a copyright on it anyhow as they see other sites do it and don't know what its for.
Last Blog Entry: Happy Holidays - A Non Offensive way to say Merry Christmas? WRONG! (Dec 11th, 2007)
|
|
#10
|
|||
|
|||
|
Re: stolen web site design
Frankly speaking I see no point to use templates of the other company. Chennaiinfo.com hasn't even change the title of the MarbleHost.com on their web site. Shame on them.
|
|
#11
|
|||
|
|||
|
Re: stolen web site design
It's really a pity when the other company uses the web design of the web hosting company that has already been in the web hosting business for a long while. But I think MarbleHost.com will not lose anything because of that.
|
|
#12
|
|||
|
|||
|
Re: stolen web site design
It's always a pity when the web design of your company is stolen by somebody. But I hope the reputation of MarbheHost.com hasn't damaged.
|
|
#13
|
|||
|
|||
|
Re: stolen web site design
Anyway MarbleHost.com is a reputable company and they are known with their top-notch services. Think they'll be lucky with their business.
|
|
#14
|
|||
|
|||
|
Re: stolen web site design
Quote:
I also wonder if Marblehost.com has filed a suite against chennainfo.com? |
|
#15
|
|||
|
|||
|
Re: stolen web site design
if a proper company is gonna use a template they should either buy the rights to the template meaning only they can use it or pay a proffesional designer/coder to make there site I would suggest the latter
|
|
#16
|
|||
|
|||
|
Re: stolen web site design
Any Marblehost.com representatives here? I'm just wondering what was their reaction like?
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| My Web Design Site | MotorManiac | Free Web Site Critique | 25 | Nov 8th, 2007 00:19 |
| I need someone to design my site (I Pay) | neal41835 | Job Opportunities | 0 | Jul 14th, 2007 03:10 |
| Which is the best web design site? | Picard | Webforumz Cafe | 11 | Dec 14th, 2006 13:06 |
| [req] Free basic web templates site + button design site | slorryy | Web Page Design | 3 | Feb 17th, 2006 17:05 |
| Stolen .swf files and other, not sure where to post | autumn_whispers2me | Flash & Multimedia Forum | 7 | Jan 25th, 2005 13:14 |